Book Review – Wings of Fire

Sabiq, 13

Hi, again, it’s book review y’all. I know “Yay another Percy Jackson”, well this time I’m going to move one and do Wings of Fire: The Dragonet Prophecy. You see I don’t want to abandon Percy Jackson, I just to keep you all hanging like some Youtuber who just keeps annoying you with that “really secret project” they’re going to do. Wings of Fire is a fantasy, like a Warriors kind of book, except this time with dragons. Tui T. Sutherland wrote this book in 2012.

I’m going to try to explain it simply. The book is set in a world of dragons. There are seven types: Nightwings, Icewings, Seawings, Skywings, Rainwings, Sandwings, and Mudwings. They all have non-supernatural powers somewhat related to what they are called other than wings. The book is in the point of view of the Mudwing dragon, Clay.

My likes were the plot, narration, humor, conflict, world, idea, and setting. The plot wasn’t too bad and a nice throwback was attempted. The world was nicely built in the basics. Narration wasn’t too bad either, it had some voice. The humor with the little logic things wasn’t bad either and there was conflict that could cause an adrenaline. The setting was nice.

Okay, now for me to list reasons why I didn’t like the book. The world was only built in the basics. Everything else just didn’t work. The characters didn’t act like people. To me, they felt like stock characters, and the villains had no humanity (or dragonity?). The dialogue felt unreal and made it feel as if abrupt things would just happen randomly. To me, this made the plot really bad. Which also adds to the fact that the plot is outdated and ancient. The relationships could have gone in more detail. The setting just felt too stereotypical and a bit of a rip-off of Warriors. No risk was taken, no genre mixing and to me it just felt like a really bad soap opera/telenovela/natok (natoks are a type of Bangladesh telenovela except more dramatic and worse (don’t tell my parents that I said natoks were bad please, thanks)). The conflict didn’t have enough tension. I would recommend this book for ages 12 and up.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started